Skip to content

First 100 shops: $99 USD per location, per month90-day pays-for-itself guarantee Start at the founding price

Guide

Auto repair shop software: what it costs and how to choose

On this page
  1. What auto repair shop software does
  2. What auto repair shop software costs in October 2026
  3. How to choose auto repair shop software
  4. Which kind of shop fits which kind of system
  5. A five-test trial plan
  6. How BayStacker fits
  7. BayStacker at a glance
  8. Related guides
  9. Common questions
  10. Sources

What auto repair shop software does

Whatever it is called — mechanic shop software, auto repair software, shop management software — the product does the same core job: it holds the repair order from the first call to the last payment. In most systems that means:

  • Customers and vehicles. One record per customer and per vehicle, with history that follows the vehicle.
  • Estimates and approvals. A priced estimate the customer can approve before the work starts.
  • The work board. Which repair is in which phase, who has it, and what it is waiting on.
  • Inspections. A checklist with findings, usually with photos.
  • Parts and inventory. Requests, orders, receiving, and cost against the job.
  • Invoicing and payments. The invoice, the payment, and what is still owed.
  • Reporting. Car count, average repair order, technician hours, and what came back.

Systems differ most in what is included at the entry price and what is sold as an add-on: a labor guide, integrated parts ordering, two-way texting, card processing, marketing and extra locations are the usual dividing lines.

What auto repair shop software costs in October 2026

These are the published list prices for one location. Each vendor's own page was read on 22 October 2026, except Mitchell 1, whose store blocked an automated read that day; its figure is from 27 September 2026. Annual billing is lower at every vendor that offers it. Quotes, promotions and taxes change the number you actually pay, so get the total in writing.

SystemEntry plan, monthlyEntry plan, billed annuallyTop published plan, monthlyUsersSource
Tekmetric$199$179$439UnlimitedPrice page
Shopmonkey$239$215$4993 to 5, then $20 eachPrice page
Shop-Ware$279$251$999UnlimitedPrice page
AutoLeap$199$179$449Not statedPrice page
Protractor$399$359$1,299Not statedPrice page
Mitchell 1 (TeamWorks lease)$348Not publishedQuoted$15 per additional userStore page (27 Sep 2026)
BayStacker$149Monthly only$499No per-user chargePrice page

Mitchell 1's figure is its TeamWorks bundle on a 12-month lease; it does not publish a stand-alone Manager SE price. Plan-by-plan detail is in Tekmetric pricing, Shopmonkey pricing and AutoLeap pricing.

What the plan price leaves out

The entry price is rarely the monthly bill. Each of these is published on the vendor's own page:

  • Tekmetric: multi-shop is +$70 a month per shop, a tire suite +$39 and marketing +$345 a month per shop, each requiring a plan for every location.
  • Shopmonkey: $20 a month for each user beyond the included licenses, a one-time $500 data migration fee, and card readers at $299 plus $10 a month per device.
  • Shop-Ware: data migration fees may apply, an accounting link integration fee applies, transaction fees apply to Shop-Ware Payments, and CRM plus online scheduling is a $249 a month add-on.
  • AutoLeap: a one-time setup fee whose amount the page does not state, and an AI receptionist at $99 a month.
  • Protractor: CRM plus online scheduling (Advanced Tools) is $249 a month, transaction fees apply to integrated payments, and prices apply to new customers or upgrades only.

How to choose auto repair shop software

Ask these in order. The first one decides more than the price does.

  1. What is the record built around? Most systems are built around the repair order: estimate, approval, labor, parts, invoice. That fits oil changes, brakes and maintenance. If your costly jobs are diagnoses that come back, ask where the complaint, the evidence and the confirmation are recorded, and whether the invoice can wait for the repair to be proven.
  2. What is the whole monthly bill? Add users beyond the allowance, the add-ons you would turn on, payment processing and any migration or setup fee. Compare that total, not the plan card.
  3. What does the counter need? Check the labor guide, parts ordering from your suppliers, two-way texting, card payments and accounting sync. These sit on different tiers at different vendors.
  4. How does history move? Ask for the export format and for a dry run of the import before you cancel anything. Keep the old system readable for a month.
  5. Who answers when it breaks? Ask what support is included and how quickly a person replies. Test it during the trial.

Which kind of shop fits which kind of system

  • General repair and maintenance, with a busy counter. A general system is the natural fit. Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, AutoLeap, Protractor and Mitchell 1 all publish what they include; the comparison hub lines them up feature by feature with a source for every cell.
  • Transmission, rebuild and powertrain work. The expensive failure is a unit that comes back, so the record has to hold the diagnosis, the unit, the core and the comeback. That is the job BayStacker is built for; the workflow is on transmission shop software.
  • A general shop with a transmission bay. Run the general system for the counter and judge whether the transmission work needs its own diagnosis record.

A five-test trial plan

Run these on your own last month of jobs, not on demo data.

  1. Write an estimate, send it for approval and convert it to a repair order.
  2. Run a job through the board with a part that arrives late, and see how the hold shows.
  3. Add a part with a core charge, receive it and return the core.
  4. Close a job, then reopen it as a comeback and check that the original history is still attached.
  5. Export everything, and import a sample of your own history.

How BayStacker fits

BayStacker at a glance

  • What it is: diagnosis-first auto repair shop management software for transmission and powertrain work. The complaint, the decoded VIN and the first finding become one diagnosis case; Analysis A returns a ranked hypothesis with the next test and the rework risk, a draft until a person confirms it; the work order, parts, build and invoice read from that case.
  • What it costs: Intelligence $149 USD or Full OS $499 USD per location per month, billed monthly, with 1,000 analysis runs a month. 7-day free trial. A card is required when the trial starts and is first charged when the trial ends, unless you cancel before then. There is no per-user charge and no annual contract; a plan is cancelled from the billing page.
  • Who it is for: transmission and rebuild shops, fleet powertrain operations, multi-location groups, and general repair shops with a transmission bay.
  • What it does not do: it has no labor guide, no integrated supplier parts ordering, no two-way texting or marketing suite, and it does not process card payments — payments are recorded on the invoice.
  • Moving in: history comes in as a CSV file, one row per past repair, after a dry run reports what would be imported, skipped or refused. There is no direct import from Tekmetric or any other vendor.
  • Moving out: every record can be exported at any time as a zip of CSV files.

Both editions start with a 7-day free trial and include 1,000 analysis runs a month per location; a card is required when the trial starts and first charged when it ends. Prices and terms are on the pricing page, and the detailed comparisons are the Tekmetric alternative, Shopmonkey alternative, Shop-Ware alternative, AutoLeap alternative, Mitchell 1 alternative and Protractor alternative.

Common questions

What is the best auto repair shop software?

There is no single best system. For a general repair shop with a busy counter, the published options (Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, AutoLeap, Protractor and Mitchell 1) differ mainly in what is included at the entry price, how users are charged and which add-ons cost extra, so the right one is decided by a trial on your own jobs. For a transmission or powertrain shop, the deciding question is whether the software records the diagnosis and holds the invoice until the repair is verified, which is what BayStacker is built for.

How much does auto repair shop software cost?

Published entry prices for one location run from $199 a month (Tekmetric, AutoLeap) to $399 (Protractor), with top published plans from $439 (Tekmetric Scale) to $1,299 (Protractor Elite), read from each vendor's pricing page on 22 October 2026. Mitchell 1 lists a TeamWorks bundle at $348 a month on a 12-month lease (27 September 2026). Extra users, add-ons, payment processing and migration or setup fees are charged on top.

Is there free auto repair shop software?

Some vendors advertise free tiers or free trials, and this page does not review them; the plans compared above are paid plans. Before relying on a free product, check what is limited (users, repair orders, history or support) and whether your history can be exported. The post on free auto repair shop software sets out what to check.

What is the difference between auto repair shop software and shop management software?

In practice the terms name the same product: software that runs estimates, repair orders, parts, invoices and reporting for a repair shop. "Shop management" usually stresses the back office (scheduling, inventory, reporting, accounting sync); "auto repair shop software" is the broader search term. The module-by-module guide covers the management side.

Does BayStacker replace general auto repair shop software?

For a transmission shop, Full OS can run the diagnosis case, work orders, parts requests, cores and invoices. It has no labor guide, no integrated supplier parts ordering, no two-way texting or marketing suite, and it does not process card payments, so a shop that depends on those can keep a general system for the counter and use BayStacker for the diagnosis.

Can I move my history from my current shop software?

Usually, if you control the order: export customers, vehicles, repair orders and invoices before cancelling, ask the new vendor for a dry run of the import, and keep the old system readable for a month. BayStacker imports history as a CSV file, one row per past repair, and runs a dry run that reports what would be imported, skipped or refused before it writes. There is no direct import from another vendor.

Sources

  1. Tekmetric pricingtekmetric.com
  2. Shopmonkey pricingshopmonkey.io
  3. Shop-Ware packages and pricingshop-ware.com
  4. AutoLeap pricing and plansautoleap.com
  5. Protractor pricingprotractorsoftware.com
  6. Mitchell 1 online store: TeamWorks packagesbuymitchell1.net
  7. BayStacker pricingbaystacker.com

Run Analysis A on the unit that came back.

Try it on your own last rework: the complaint, the decoded VIN, the ranked hypothesis and the rework risk, on a case you can read.