Tekmetric vs Shopmonkey: prices, users and features compared
Tekmetric, Shopmonkey and BayStacker, feature by feature
Both general systems are built around the repair order, and neither lists a transmission workflow on its own pages. Every vendor cell is read from that vendor’s pricing, integrations or scheduling page on 27 September 2026, and cites it.
| Criterion | BayStacker | Tekmetric | Shopmonkey |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for transmission work | |||
| What the record is built around | The diagnosis case1 | The repair order2 | The work order3 |
| Unit and core tracking | Included: Cores tracked until the credit lands4 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| Teardown findings and build sheets | Included: Build record with each measurement4 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| Rebuild vs. reman workflow | Included: In-house rebuild, reman swap or sublet | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| Comeback tied to the job’s history | Included: Reopens the original work order, same case1 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| Diagnosis with evidence | Included: Ranked hypothesis, evidence, next test; a person confirms1 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| Road test and QC before the invoice | Included: No invoice until verification passes5 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| VIN-gated diagnosis | Included: Analysis A waits for a decoded VIN1 | Not stated2 | Not stated3 |
| General shop work | |||
| Estimates and invoices | Included: Full OS6 | Included: From Start2 | Included: Every plan3 |
| Customer approval links | Included: Estimate approval by link7 | Included: Digital authorizations2 | Included: Authorizations and e-signatures3 |
| Digital vehicle inspections | Partial: Evidence and photos on the case; no customer-facing inspection | Included: From Start2 | Included: Every plan3 |
| Scheduling and online booking | Included: Appointment calendar; booking page per location | Add-on: Calendar; online booking in Marketing8 | Included: Calendar and reminders, every plan3 |
| Accounting | Partial: Its own ledger per location; records export as CSV4 | Not stated9 | Included: QuickBooks Online from Clever3 |
| Two-way texting | Not offered: Not offered1 | Included: From Scale2 | Included: Every plan3 |
| Supplier parts ordering | Not offered: Requests and POs recorded; ordered at the supplier1 | Included: PartsTech integration9 | Included: PartsTech, Nexpart, RepairLink3 |
| Labor guide | Not offered: None1 | Included: From Grow2 | Included: MOTOR, from Clever3 |
| Card payments | Not offered: Recorded on the invoice, not processed1 | Add-on: Payments add-on; built in on Enterprise2 | Included: Every plan3 |
| Marketing and reviews | Not offered: Not offered1 | Add-on: +$345/mo per shop2 | Add-on: CRM Essentials, $349/mo3 |
| Price and plan | |||
| Month to month, one location | $149 or $4996 | $199–$439; Enterprise quoted2 | $239–$499; Multi-Shop quoted3 |
| Billed annually | Monthly only6 | $179–$4092 | $215–$4493 |
| Users | No per-user charge6 | Unlimited2 | 3–5 included, then $20/mo each3 |
| Moving your history in | CSV import with a dry run; no vendor import10 | Not stated2 | Assistance; one-time $500 fee3 |
Sources for the matrix
- BayStacker: transmission shop softwarebaystacker.com
- Tekmetric pricingtekmetric.com
- Shopmonkey pricingshopmonkey.io
- BayStacker product: builder bench, parts and coresbaystacker.com
- BayStacker help: Why can’t I invoice?baystacker.com
- BayStacker pricingbaystacker.com
- BayStacker solutions: what the customer seesbaystacker.com
- Tekmetric appointment schedulingtekmetric.com
- Tekmetric integrationstekmetric.com
- BayStacker help: How do I import my history?baystacker.com
On this page
BayStacker at a glance
- What it is: diagnosis-first auto repair shop management software for transmission and powertrain work. The complaint, the decoded VIN and the first finding become one diagnosis case; Analysis A returns a ranked hypothesis with the next test and the rework risk, a draft until a person confirms it; the work order, parts, build and invoice read from that case.
- What it costs: Intelligence $149 or Full OS $499 per location per month, billed monthly, with a 30-day free trial and 1,000 analysis runs a month. There is no per-user charge and no annual contract; a plan is cancelled from the billing page.
- Who it is for: transmission and rebuild shops, fleet powertrain operations, multi-location groups, and general repair shops with a transmission bay.
- What it does not do: it has no labor guide, no integrated supplier parts ordering, no two-way texting or marketing suite, and it does not process card payments — payments are recorded on the invoice.
- Moving in: history comes in as a CSV file, one row per past repair, after a dry run reports what would be imported, skipped or refused. There is no direct import from Tekmetric or any other vendor.
- Moving out: every record can be exported at any time as a zip of CSV files.
The two plans, side by side
Both are general auto repair shop management systems built around the repair order. Every figure below is from the vendor's own pricing page, read on 27 September 2026.
| Criterion | Tekmetric | Shopmonkey |
|---|---|---|
| Month to month | $199 Start · $349 Grow · $439 Scale · Enterprise quoted | $239 Basic · $399 Clever · $499 Genius · Multi-Shop quoted |
| Billed annually | $179 · $309 · $409 | $215 · $359 · $449 |
| Users | Unlimited on every plan | 3, 4 or 5 included; +$20 a month each |
| Labor guide | From Grow | MOTOR parts and labor from Clever |
| Two-way texting | From Scale | Every plan |
| Card payments | Payments add-on; integrated payments in Enterprise | Every plan |
| Parts ordering | PartsTech listed on its integrations page | Every plan; PartsTech, Nexpart and RepairLink listed |
| Mobile app | Tekmetric Mobile, native iOS and Android | iOS and Android on every plan |
| Multi-location | +$70 a month per shop | Multi-Shop plan, quoted |
| Marketing | +$345 a month per shop | CRM Essentials, $349 a month |
| Migration | Not listed on the pricing page | Assistance on every plan; one-time $500 fee |
Which one costs less
The answer turns on two things: how many people log in, and whether the shop needs texting.
| Shop, one location | Tekmetric | Shopmonkey |
|---|---|---|
| 3 users, labor guide, no texting | $349 (Grow) | $399 (Clever) |
| 6 users, labor guide and texting | $439 (Scale) | $439 (Clever + 2 users) |
| 10 users, labor guide and texting | $439 (Scale) | $519 (Clever + 6 users) |
| 3 users, texting and payments, no labor guide | $439 (Scale) + payments | $239 (Basic) |
Month-to-month prices, before payment processing, marketing and taxes. Tekmetric's payments product is sold as an add-on without a published price, so a shop that needs card payments on Tekmetric should get that quote before comparing.
Choosing between them
Tekmetric suits
- Larger teams, because users are unlimited on every plan.
- Shops that want the labor guide without paying for the third tier.
- Groups that add locations one at a time with the multi-shop add-on.
Shopmonkey suits
- Small teams that live on texting and card payments from the first plan.
- Shops whose technicians work from a phone app.
- Shops that order parts from several suppliers inside the work order.
Every Tekmetric tier and add-on is broken down in Tekmetric pricing, and Shopmonkey's in Shopmonkey pricing.
Where BayStacker fits
Neither Tekmetric nor Shopmonkey lists a diagnosis workflow or a verification gate on its pricing page. BayStacker is built for that gap in transmission work: the complaint, the decoded VIN and the first finding go onto one diagnosis case; Analysis A returns a ranked hypothesis with the evidence and the next test, a draft until a person confirms it; and a managed job does not invoice, deliver or close until verification passes. It costs $149 or $499 per location per month with no per-user charge.
It is not a third general system. BayStacker has no labor guide, no parts ordering, no texting and no card processing. A general repair shop is choosing between Tekmetric and Shopmonkey; a transmission shop can add BayStacker's diagnosis edition beside either one, or run the shop on Full OS. The two comparisons are BayStacker as a Tekmetric alternative and BayStacker as a Shopmonkey alternative.
Common questions
Is Tekmetric or Shopmonkey better?
Neither across the board. Tekmetric is priced per shop with unlimited users and puts its labor guide on the middle plan; Shopmonkey includes 3 to 5 users, charges $20 for each extra, and puts texting, card payments and parts ordering on every plan. Small teams that need texting usually pay less on Shopmonkey; teams larger than six usually pay less on Tekmetric.
Which is cheaper, Tekmetric or Shopmonkey?
Tekmetric starts at $199 a month and Shopmonkey at $239, month to month, or $179 and $215 billed annually (read 27 September 2026). The entry price is misleading: Tekmetric adds texting only on its $439 Scale plan, and Shopmonkey adds $20 a month for each user beyond its allowance.
Does Tekmetric charge per user?
No. Tekmetric’s pricing page says every plan has unlimited users and unlimited repair orders. Shopmonkey includes 3, 4 or 5 users by plan and charges $20 a month for each additional license.
Can I switch from Shopmonkey to Tekmetric, or the other way?
Yes. Shopmonkey lists data migration assistance on every plan with a one-time $500 fee; Tekmetric does not publish its migration terms on its pricing page, so ask. Whichever way you move, export customers, vehicles, repair orders and invoices first, and keep the old system readable for a month so a disputed job can still be checked.
Is there an alternative to both for a transmission shop?
BayStacker is built for transmission work rather than general repair: a diagnosis case with a ranked hypothesis and the next test, and an invoice that waits for verification, at $149 or $499 per location per month. It has no labor guide, parts ordering, texting or card processing, so a shop can run it beside Tekmetric or Shopmonkey rather than instead of them.
Sources
- Tekmetric pricing (plans, annual prices, add-ons)tekmetric.com
- Tekmetric integrations (PartsTech)tekmetric.com
- Tekmetric Mobile (native iOS and Android app)tekmetric.com
- Shopmonkey pricing (plans, user licenses, add-ons, migration fee)shopmonkey.io
- BayStacker pricingbaystacker.com
More comparisons
Tekmetric alternative
Where BayStacker replaces Tekmetric for a transmission shop, where it does not, and what each costs per location.
Shopmonkey alternative
Shopmonkey’s per-user plans against BayStacker’s per-location price, and which shop each one is built for.
Shop-Ware alternative
Shop-Ware’s parts, texting and customer-facing polish against BayStacker’s diagnosis case and verification gate.
AutoLeap alternative
AutoLeap against BayStacker for a transmission shop, plus AutoLeap vs Tekmetric plan by plan.
Mitchell 1 alternative
Mitchell 1 Manager SE, sold with ProDemand on a lease, against BayStacker’s monthly per-location plan for transmission work.
Protractor alternative
Protractor’s Epicor labor guides, accounting and core tracking against BayStacker’s diagnosis case, at a lower monthly price.
Run Analysis A on the unit that came back.
Try it on your own last rework: the complaint, the decoded VIN, the ranked hypothesis and the rework risk, on a case you can read.